Lesson Three – Preparing Your Fabric, or … Fabric Pile Clean up Time!

In lesson 3 you learn how to prepare your fabric for sewing and cutting. The authors say the trueness of the fabric grain is a major factor in how well your quilt top behaves. If the grainline along the edge of the strips varies by more than a few threads, there is potential for stretching and distortion. This section is giving me a great excuse to clean up my sewing room. If you’re like me, you have piles and piles of fabrics here and there not really knowing what you have. I’ve taken some time to tear, iron, realign and create a new fold in many pieces of the fabric that I have in my stash. This is been good practice for me and it’s crazy to see that some has been in pretty good alignment but most of it has been off by an inch or two. Now, I can sew and cut with confidence and

image

accuracy.
Here are 30 fabrics that I straightened. After that much practice I think I’ve got the technique down.
image

Leave a Reply

